We have many opportunities for professional development at our center. We are required to have 25 hours of training per year on various topics. One of the best resources I use is Better Kid Care as I am often busy and cannot attend trainings that require travel. Better Kid Care is a website that offers free or low-cost trainings to professional on a wide range of topics in the early childhood field. This year I have taken many including health and safety, professionalism, reducing stress, observation and assessments, and childhood obsesity.

I am also provided with training opportunities at my center. We have many professional come in to talk about current issues and trends in the field. I recently took a training on adverse childhood experiences and brain development so I could better support children who may have had negative expereicnesealry in life. I also read articles placed in our teacher mailboxes on various issues in the field and share new insights I have gained with my colleagues. I meet with my team once a week to discuss the kiddos in our program and how we can best support their needs. We develop new strategies and activities to enhance development. I also meet twice a month with my center director to reflect on the classroom and come up with effective solutions and strategies to aid my professional development.

Click here to access Better Kid Care

Image result for pictures of teamwork

One thought on “Opportunities for Professional Development

Leave a comment